“Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.”
-Carl Sagan

As I begin to consider how to go about making this blog truly informational to the casually  health conscious reader, I find myself choosing and re-choosing a starting point. This is because for the many years that I have been reading health blogs, health news, scientific articles, books, etc., they have been claiming “proofs” and “truths.” As a scientist, I don’t believe that it’s possible to prove something true. It is possible to prove something false; that’s easy. But in science, the closest we get to “proving the truth” is heaps of evidence that all point in the same direction. “True” in science pretty much  means “we haven’t proved it false yet.”

So as I begin to write this blog on what I consider healthy nutritional practices, please remember that I claim nothing to be irrefutably and undeniably true, but there is evidence to back up all of my claims.

I wanted to begin here because I wanted to establish the kind of blog I’m intending to pen. There will be no “get fit quick” tips, and no “exercise of the day” type garbage. If you are genuinely reading this blog to improve your health and life, you have come to the right place. If you’re not willing to do the research on your own, that’s ok. I’ll be doing it for you. (Although how anyone can trust anything they read about health without checking sources is beyond my comprehension.) The reading may get a little heavy for some, but I’ll try to hi-light bullet points along the way.

I hope you enjoy!

The Red Flag of Proof

Leave a Reply

