Excuses

I’ve been to a total of four CrossFit boxes in my life. All of them contain a group of people with similar qualities. Competitiveness, determination, and good spirits. No one (seriously) whines about the workout, no one snaps at anyone else, and no one makes excuses. No one who lasts anyway.

My home box has an owner who is known for telling stories, many with underlying threats somewhat akin to “if you act like the person in this story, I will give you a gift card to join a different box, get out of my sight,” kind of stories. Yesterday, he told me one about a girl who joined CrossFit with the personal training option. So she didn’t go to group classes, she only met one-on-one with a coach. She was somewhat overweight, but seemed willing enough to try the workouts although she needed a good push most of the time. The trainer also asked her to follow a set diet and keep a food diary. After about two months, this girl began whining about working out every time she came, saying things like, “I don’t know why I come here, this isn’t working.” Now, my box is great at keeping up on Facebook, and they do plenty of weekend socials that this girl would attend. Just because people are CrossFitters does not mean they lead flawless dietary lifestyles and never kick back and enjoy. Remember my birthday post?

So this girl is whining that she’s not looking better the Monday after she had been to a weekend CrossFit social. Her trainer asks to see her food diary and notices that she has not logged any of the alcohol she drank at the social. Or any of the “Friday night nachos and margaritas!” or “Wednesday night half price wine bottle night!” that had been seen in her Facebook posts. Soon after being called out, this girl left the box.

As we talked about this anonymous girl yesterday, one of my fellow athletes kind of hung her head, and sheepishly said something about the two Yinzeritas she had the other night. (Yinzeritas are fantastic. Most places call them “Coronitas” which makes more sense, but hey, this is Pittsburgh. Margarita + Corona with a little mango is delicious.)

yinzer

Before she could feel too bad about it, I jumped in and explained how I see a huge difference between the girl from above and her. No one is going to be perfect all the time, but owning your mistakes makes a huge difference. The girl from above was blaming CrossFit for her lack of progress, which is ridiculous.

lin

Everyone slips, but anyone who is making significant progress has a generally healthy diet. The girl who felt bad about the Yinzeritas was owning her mistake, not blaming someone else. Also, her slip-up was one night, not every day.

EVERYONE slips. EVERYONE takes a day to forget their “diet/lifestyle/eating style” or whatever they call it, and enjoy life. But when you make a habit of slipping, you won’t see results, no matter how hard you work out. There is nothing more annoying to a trainer/coach/anyone trying to help you get fit, then when you blame the program instead of owning your mistakes. I know that when I eat an entire pan of paleo chocolate granola bars, I probably went over my daily allotment of calories. I own it, and I move on . I don’t start blaming CrossFit for my lack of weight loss.

I consider excuses like this a serious mental block. How are you ever going to get fit if you don’t see what you’re doing wrong? I think part of it is about priorities. You HAVE to make fitness one of them. The girl from above must have had more of a priority set on an alcoholic social life then being healthy. I’ll keep saying it: no one is perfect, but there comes a time to be honest with yourself.

Leave a Reply

