What to do with any extra energy

Hi there. I was very tired yesterday from a allergy pill I took even though it was the make-you-sleepy kind. So I slacked off yesterday on the blog post writing. Don’t worry, I still went to CrossFit. Yesterday, we did a quick 20 minute AMRAP (as many reps as possible) of the following:

6 deadlifts: I did these at 135 #

7 burpee-pushups: just a burpee followed by a pushup

10 kettlebell swings: I did 1 pood (unit of weight, ~35#)

200 M run

kb

This was a tough workout. I completed most of seven rounds in 20 minutes, but each class is given an hour. So when we finished the AMRAP, we were told to work on something we have trouble with for the rest of the hour. I chose to work on power snatches which I am horrible at. But because I was dead from the AMRAP, my snatch form was bad before I even started. I went home feeling a little defeated and like I owed something more in physical activity for the day. I noticed my jump rope on the floor of my car. (Everyone who joins CrossFit should invest in a nice jump rope.) It has been shown that 10 minutes of basic jumping rope burns the same amount of calories as running an 8 minute mile, and can burn up to 700 calories per hour. That’s a pretty awesome workout for a piece of equipment that you can use almost anywhere (with a high ceiling, learned the hard way), and is simple to transport and store anywhere. Not to mention, most of them don’t cost $20.

A study conducted in 2010 showed that a 12-week rope jumping program improved shoulder strength and power in young female volleyball players (2).

A similar study conducted in 2011, showed that a 12-week rope jumping program improved performance and joint stability in a similar cohort of young volleyball players (3).

Celebrities who credit jump rope as a fit secret are Adriana Lima, Fergie, Kate Hudson, Katy Perry, Madonna, and Bar Rafaeili.

bar jump

So, I didn’t take much convincing. I started hopping, and felt fulfilled after about 10 minutes. It’s so easy and even more convenient than running. It is also considered to be less damaging to the joints because you land on the balls of your feet every time as opposed to the heel in running. This is not well studied, but widely believed among experts.

1.  “Jumping rope is cheap, portable, and burns more calories than you might think”. WebMD.

2. Duzgun IBaltaci GColakoglu FTunay VBOzer D. The effects of jump-rope training on shoulder isokinetic strength in adolescent volleyball players. J Sport Rehabil. 2010 May;19(2):184-99.

3. Ozer D, Duzgun I, Baltaci G, Karacan S, Colakoglu F. The effects of rope or weighted rope jump training on strength, coordination and proprioception in adolescent female volleyball players. J Sports Med Phys Fitness. 2011 Jun;51(2):211-9.

Leave a Reply

